Cupcakes Always Win

>Korea… Day 1

3 Comments

Dear friends, family and followers,

As I type this post it is about 6:30am in Canada, 8:30pm in Korea and I have been awake for over 24 hours. It has been a crazy day. I really can’t believe I am in Korea right now typing this. I am in my apartment (photos to come, I still have to unpack) and it is really nice, small but very nice and in a very good location. There is so much around here. I am overwhelmed.

Ok onto the travel day stuff, my family and I arrived at the airport for 5am, I had to go through U.S. customs even though it was only a layover. And get this, I was not able to check my baggage until I went through customs. The flight to Chicago was fine and I was only in Chicago for a few hours. The flight to Seoul however was… long. I cannot stress just how LONG this flight was (11-12 hours). It is not a flight I would do very often.

Upon my arrival to Seoul I gathered my baggage and went through the exit to find a Korean taxi driver waiting with a sign that had my name on it. I tried to talk to him but he didn’t know what I was saying. He drove me to Anyang to meet the owner of the school. I met the owner of the school and he showed me to my apartment and took me out to dinner.

Dinner was so different. SO different, it was a little hole in the wall restaurant with two ladies and their dog (the dog walked around to greet the customers) serving Korean food. One very kind man was cuious about where I came from and spoke Korean to the school owner about my nationality. He was so kind that he bought the school owner and I some chicken feet (YES, actual chicken feet)… it was a very thoughtful gesture but these sorts of things are too much of a culture shock for me…it is my first day! I also don’t think I will ever be able to eat chicken feet. I felt really bad so to be respectful I tried to take a bite but it was too hard and it REALLY grossed me out. So instead I got a mouthful of very spicy sauce that kept my mouth burning for hours. 

Oh and get this, the dog had make-up on. Yup, bright pink blush AND ear-muffs. I normally don’t stare, but I couldn’t help it when this dog was walking around.

So all in all it has been a very tiresome day and I am really starting to see just how accepting I will have to be when it comes to cultural differences. Anyang will be a great place to live for a year. There is so much I can’t wait to explore. I will explore tomorrow and take some photos to include in my next post.

Before I sign off I will apologize in advance because I had two more food posts but I left the recipes at home, so they may be delayed for the time being. But for now I will start taking photos of the things I do around here!

I miss you guys and I will talk to you soon! Set up skype dates!

Love Anna

xoxo

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

3 thoughts on “>Korea… Day 1

  1. Dearest Anna,

    I’m so glad you have started your new adventure! I’m going to follow your blog as best as I can! I hope to skype with you soon! It already sounds like one hell of an awesome trip!

    Miss you and love you!

  2. Hi Anna!

    You made it!

    Wow – I hope I don’t get offered chicken feet! Even if I weren’t a vegetarian (which I am) I don’t think I could eat them! And a dog with makeup serving food?!! hahahahahaha. It’s like something from a weird movie.

    Oh no! You are making me scared about the flight. I may have to take lots of sleeping pills 😉

    Can’t wait to see the pictures of your apartment, school, etc.! When do you start teaching?

    Have Fun 🙂

    Lorraine

  3. This is the most hilarious culture shock story I have ever heard! I just wish that you had taken a picture of this dog. That would have made the story truly priceless. I am sorry to hear about the chicken feet (ew!), but it looks like you are living in a pretty sweet pad. Keep the stories coming–they liven up the day of this boring public servant!

Leave a Reply

