Cupcakes Always Win

Roasted Chestnut and Strawberry Oatmeal

2 Comments

 

I am so excited about this post! It is my first post of cooking in my kitchen since moving to Korea! Talk about being creative, I have a very small space to cook and taking pretty food photos is a lot more difficult than I would have imagined. But I am really making lots of lemonade with the lemons I have been given here… I think that is how the saying goes? Correct me if I am wrong!

Inspiration for this recipe came from the random items I have been collecting this week. Yesterday I was hiking and a very kind Korean man bought my friend and I chestnuts (they are called something different here but I don’t recall what he said). The photo below shows the chestnuts being roasted… there were a couple of these stands at the base of the mountain.

I really enjoyed the roasted chestnuts, they tasted like a cooked lima bean, or some sort of bean. They were super tasty!

Earlier in the week I visited a market and got a very large container of Korean Strawberries, I am pretty sure they are in season here now and they are SO delicious, I would have had a photo if I didn’t eat almost the entire container… they are so good here. There are some strawberries that are abnormally large, but I just avoid those fruit stands.

And the oats, I briefly mentioned them in one of my other blog posts, but they were found in a foreign market and cost close to 11 dollars Canadian. They are quaker one minute oats and I think that is the closest to steel-cut oats I will get here so I am not complaining.

Oatmeal is such a great food for breakfast, it fills you up and you can pretty much add whatever you like to it.

Usually when I cook my oatmeal I will cook the desired ingredients in with the oats while the oats are cooking. In this recipe those desired ingredients are chestnuts and strawberries. I find it gives the oatmeal some extra flavour.

I know this is a VERY non-korean type food to be posting a recipe for… but I still have to get more confident in speaking Korean and learning about the specific ingredients before I feel confident enough to post a Korean food item I have cooked. But it will come, just give me a few more weeks. I will try to post a few more of the dinner items I have eaten here as well. But it is a little awkward to be yanking at the camera while trying to make friends. I don’t want to be a complete weirdo… yet…

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Chestnut and Strawberry Oatmeal

  1. I love how your still cooking up things 🙂 Let me know if you need more oats!

    -D

  2. that oatmeal looks sooooooooooo good!! and adding roasted chest nuts is such a great idea!! I’m gonna try that soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

