Cupcakes Always Win

>Korea: Weekend away

1 Comment

This past weekend was my first trip away from the Seoul area. I went to Seoraksan National Park with some friends.

There are four main entrances into the park and I was at the entrance closest to a city called Sokcho. The Seoraksan National Park is a well-known park for hiking in Korea. It is still off-season for hiking so it was the perfect time to go. The village of hotels and hostels near the park entrance was completely empty… I can only imagine what it will be like in a month or so. I doubt it would be much of an escape from the city. 

On Saturday ‘the gang’ hiked up Ulsanbawi Rock. I didn’t take too many pictures because I was trying to enjoy the scenery as much as possible.

Once we got to the top we wanted to sit down and enjoy the view for a while. Of course there was a man at the top of this mountain selling things… we are pretty sure we caught him asking us if we wanted ‘hot or cold tea’. We didn’t realize what a great venue the top of a mountain would be for selling things. I am still wondering how this man runs a business at the top of the mountain on a daily basis (presuming he is there everyday).

Due to the complications at the top of the mountain we had to settle for a rock that was a bit below the main peak. 

 I expected to get a good workout from the hike but I did not intend on it being only stairs almost the whole way up. But that is exactly what it was. This is the best photo I was able to get on the way down from the mountain.

On Sunday we went into Sokcho to look at the beach and walk around. There was not too much going on but it was a small town with the mountains in the distance.

 It was a great weekend of hiking, running and socializing. A great escape from the city and I look forward to doing it again soon!

Anna xox

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

One thought on “>Korea: Weekend away

  1. Looks fun! I’ll have to look into doing something like this! Great pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

