Cupcakes Always Win

>Korea: Puffed Wheat

3 Comments

I can name off about five people who just rolled their eyes. A post about puffed wheat… lame… to some… but pretty exciting to me.  You have a choice to end lameness now and move on… or continue reading (It’s suggested to continue reading… but that is a biased opinion).

I have been trying to figure out what to eat for breakfast instead of oats (because oats are hard to find and very expensive). I have not fully committed to a typical Korean breakfast of soup or rice… and I don’t know if I will be able to while I am here. But I do need to convert to something that is a bit more practical and supports the locals… enter puffed wheat.

Yup, I found large bags at this massive market I found about twenty minutes from where I live. I love the markets here. They put all farmer’s markets I have been to in Canada to shame. OK, back to puffed wheat…

I am used to the puffed wheat in Canada. They are usually stacked on the bottom shelf at the end of the cereal aisle and look like a bunch of uncomfortable pillows. It is always a hunt to find the goods because some grocery stores do not carry it (shocking!).  The Canadian puffed wheat eaters reading this know exactly what I am talking about…

Anyways, I was so shocked to see it here in Korea. I really did not think it was something people ate here. But when visiting larger markets than the one closest to my house puffed wheat is everywhere. I don’t know where it is coming from, but maybe when my Korean gets better I will be able to find out. The lady I bought it from gave me a free cookie too! I don’t get free cookies for buying puffed wheat in Canada… maybe she understands the difficulties of buying puffed wheat…

I didn’t make a recipe tab for this because it is pretty simple. Milk, puffed wheat and fruit. Mix it together and you have a healthy tasty breakfast.

For those that are STILL rolling their eyes, I did warn you!  But  maybe… just maybe this picture will forever change your mind about puffed wheat…

… no? Well you can’t say I didn’t try!

Hope you are all having a great day! Much love,

Anna xo

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

3 thoughts on “>Korea: Puffed Wheat

  1. I love wheat puffs! Your blog makes me smile

  2. I love wheat puffs! Your blog makes me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

