Cupcakes Always Win

Korean yellow melon bowls

4 Comments

It is time for a post about another new discovery! Korean yellow melons! They are so delicious. I discovered them on my weekend at the farm. The farm had to feed me and they fed me these melons…among other things. I started seeing them at the market a week or so ago but thought they were a type of squash. I was so wrong.

All of the markets I frequent use black plastic bags for all of their purchases. I usually try to get them to stuff it in my backpack to save on plastic but sometimes they don’t understand what my non-verbal movements mean.

When I first tasted these melons I thought they were pears. Now that I know they are not pears I would describe them as a mix between a pear/honeydew melon/cucumber… an odd combination… but it is surprisingly refreshing!

I had no idea what to do with these melons… so I turned to google for some inspiration. It took ten seconds of searching images before I realized that my ‘kitchen’ common sense was day dreaming. Images of MELON BOWLS were everywhere on my screen. Who would have thunk?

I scooped out the seeds and filled them with yogurt and topped them with banana chips and some sort of delicious bean thing (it is like a raisin… another discovery I have to blog about… but first I need a Korean friend to help translate!) So simple, yet delicious!

I am pretty positive that with the rate of distribution of foods around the world that Korean yellow melons can be found at an Asian mart somewhere nearby in Canada… check it out and let me know!

Hope you enjoy!

Much Love,

Anna xoxox

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

4 thoughts on “Korean yellow melon bowls

  1. Hey…I just bought some. They were labeled as squash! Dessert it is, then.

    • I learned they were melons when I was on a farm, I was served them and asked what it was. I initially thoguht they were squash too! How was the dessert? Did you come up with any other dessert ideas?
      Have a great day!
      Anna

  2. Eat the seeds! They taste great and act as roughage. My mom eats the whole fruit, skin and all.

  3. Thanks for the advice! I will totally do that next time! Hope you have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

