Cupcakes Always Win

>Meals of Macau

5 Comments

It has been about four months since I have been out on my own travelling and I really miss it. I am not worried though because I have an extreme case of the travel bug… which means I can’t wait to get back out there!

Anyways, I want to dedicate this blog post to my dear friends in Hong Kong. They are such lovely people and really made my trip to Hong Kong and Macau so, so wonderful. We travelled to Macau for the weekend and I turned to my friend and asked, “What is there to do in Macau?” her response was along the lines of “Eating the many delicious foods!”

Now I thought that sounded like a really great adventure. Friends and food always go hand in hand. What I didn’t realize was that we actually were going to eat like dinosaurs and have no sense of time… only sense of taste. First stop, Portuguese egg tarts

 Wake up and walk to the famous egg tart cafe… heck yes! The photo on the left displays just how popular these egg tarts are, everyone is lined up to get their own fresh batch… SO fresh that it was lava hot when eating. I love the chewy texture of the pastry and the creamy flavour of the custard. Next stop, steamed milk custard

These were a little bland but had just enough sweetness in them, it was another perfect thing to have in the morning. I sought out a recipe and hope to try and make it at home. It has egg whites in it which works to give the custard a firm texture and just a dab of sugar.

The day has barely begun, it is not even noon yet and next on the menu is more dessert! Yay!

The restaurant we went to had a fabulous patio that we fully enjoyed with more treats. The desserts were wonderful. Pictured above is mango mousse, strawberry mousse and a slice of cake (forget the flavour).

I should mention that my friends had brought ‘the book’ with them and ‘the book’ was a recent restaurant guide to Macau with the most famous places to go and eat at. I placed my trust in food with my friends and of course they did not disappoint. Next stop a questionable delicacy, shark fin soup

Now this was the only thing I only had a small sample of and could not eat a full serving. I felt really guilty and I really did not like the taste of it. I respect and admire Cantonese food and delicacies but this was one thing I could not give in to.

Next stop… shrimp paste noodles

At this point in the day it was early afternoon, our stomachs were on the verge of really needing a break. But when in Macau… you eat!

Next stop, dumpling soup

This was another dish I didn’t participate in because meat was involved. And I think I was ok with that, my stomach was but my heart wanted more! After this dish we took a well deserved break and checked-in to probably the nicest hotel I will ever stay in, The Venetian http://www.venetianmacao.com/ . After being in some cheap dorm rooms in SE Asia… this was more than a treat. Running on a treadmill with a man handing me water, apples and a towel and swimming in oasis style pools with glamourous lounge chairs and lounges around the perimeters of the pool. It was a nice break for a few days… the final stop for day one was a Portuguese restaurant,

We took a local bus out to the beach where there is a famous Portuguese restaurant. It was a great atmosphere with good drinks and food. I learned some really entertaining games to play while waiting for a table at a restaurant! After this we called it a night but started bright and early in the morning to get our full days worth!

We went to another area in Macau and all the restaurants were closed because it was a Sunday and it was too early for them to be open. We had a few snacks but I didn’t take any photos. This photo above displays the exact moment when I fell in love with Hong Kong style milk tea. This bun with the yellow is a pineapple bun and it was so fresh and simply easy to gobble down.

I will admit I have been scavenging the Chinese bakeries in Toronto to find a similar taste but have not found what I am looking for yet.

Next stop, fish ball soup

This was the last meal I photographed. We had two more meals before calling it quits. At this point I had about 3 more days in Hong Kong before I was to leave to go to Canada and I really cannot thank my friends enough for really showing me around and making sure I had such a great time. I learned so much about the Hong Kong lifestyle and food. I will forever be grateful for their kindness!

I hope that I can return the favour when they come to Canada!

Hope you enjoyed my Macau food adventures, give me some feedback! I love hearing from you,

Much Love,

Anna xoxox

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

5 thoughts on “>Meals of Macau

  1. Great post and pictures! Any plans for your next adventure?

    • Hey Lorraine, I hope all is well with you! I hope to do South America or Central America. But I also plan to go back to Asia. I have to work on saving some money first… but I have to keep believeing in my dream!

      Have a great day and if your in Toronto give me a shout out! (We’ll hang)
      Anna

  2. Wow! This was amazing, I was so inspired by the custard you had for breakfast. It sounds perfect and I was thinking, ok, how can it get better, but then you wrote about being on a tread mill and handed water and apples. And a towel. Since I always forget water and towel whenever I am at the gym I totally need this “man”. The apple is a bonus. Great post and great pictures…love the slurpy noodles!

    • I really can’t complain it was a really great weekend! I wish there was a travelling treadmill man as well, it would be helpful when you forget those necessities. Thank you for the lovely feedback! I discovered your blog a week or so ago and totally fell in love with it! Hope you have a great day!!

  3. Hi Anna,

    I only just saw your comment! I’m doing great, thanks 🙂 I’m planning on going to Teacher’s College, maybe in Australia! Like you, I also want to travel the world!

    I may be in Toronto next weekend (for an Australia thing), if so I will let you know – it would be great to see you again! Have a fun weekend and talk soon,

    Lorraine

Leave a Reply

