Cupcakes Always Win

Hand Pies

5 Comments

In the mid of the heat wave I turned my oven on. It was dreadfully hot with delicious results. The hand pie… something that can be brought along to BBQ’s or summer parties very easily and guests love the look of how small they are!

 I have been a little absent from my blog the last week or so for many reasons. One being that I travelled to Nashville and Kelowna,

EAT HERE, amazing Southern food, Monells’s 

…secondly my sister and I hosted a 30th anniversary surprise party for our parents. Being the person I am, mid-surprise I lost my camera and was unable to take a picture of my 200 piece cupcake display! I was looking forward to getting feedback from everyone but I guess that means I will have to host another large party and do the baking…

…back to hand pies…

I made two fillings, as you can see above. I enjoyed both flavours. Hand pies are great because you can fill them with whatever you want, it could even be a savoury hand pie!

Well thanks for stopping by and I hope to be more consistent with my blog posts now that things have settled! Stay tuned for more fun recipes!! As always my email is cupcakesalwayswin@gmail.com, and you can follow me on twitter, @cupcakesalways.

Much Love,

Anna xoxox

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

5 thoughts on “Hand Pies

  1. hand pies, genius! they look so cute. I’m definitely inspired 🙂

  2. Love these! Here in England they are called Pasties, they are from Cornwall (one of our southern counties) and have been around for years and years (as in probably centuries) They were traditionally half sweet filling and half savoury and were used by mine workers as a quick and easy all in one lunch. Obviously being down the coal mine is a pretty messy job and they used to use the crust (where you crimp the edges of the pastry together) to hold and then throw that bit away at the end so that the rest of it wasn’t dirtied by their hands. 🙂 yummy!

    • Dear Claire,

      Thank you so much for this lovely comment. I had NO idea that the ends of the ‘pasties’ were thrown away because of the miners dirty fingers. That is really cool! Do you have a favourite type of pastie? Thanks again and I hope you have a great day!!

      xoxox

  3. These look so yummy, I love your choice of fillings 🙂

    • Thanks Sinead! I like the looks of your blog too, I think writing a blog is a great way to practice writing… especially if you get to write about sweet things that you eventually get to eat 🙂

Leave a Reply

