Cupcakes Always Win

Sticky Toffee Pudding Mini-Cupcakes

8 Comments

I recently went to dinner at an Irish pub that had phenomenal food. Sticky toffee pudding was on the menu for dessert and it was obviously ordered. I had never had it before and was pleasantly surprised. It was so good, I couldn’t put my fork down, I just kept eating it. It was one of those desserts that gives you the urge to lick the plate when you are finished… trust me it was really hard to maintain my good manners.

I thought why not take away the plate and make a cupcake! That way there is no dilemma, you get it all! I found this recipe for sticky toffee pudding from the New York Times, and adjusted it slightly. I doubled the recipe because I wanted to have a little extra for friends that were coming over for dinner later in the day.

 I have been a little absent from my blog the last week or so but my excuse is that it is still summer time! When I am not working I have been trying to do as much as possible outdoors before it gets too cold! 

When I made these cupcakes I wanted to add something a little special on top so I made a condensed milk buttercream. For those of you that follow me regularly you will understand when I say I very rarely use condensed milk… mainly because I haven’t made it from scratch myself. But I wanted to experiment a little. I didn’t include the recipe for the condensed milk buttercream below because I was eyeballing and tasting as I made additions so I don’t have exact measurements. But the ingredients I used were butter, icing sugar, vanilla, milk and condensed milk. It was a really heavy icing hence the small dollop on top of the mini-cupcake.

The only thing I would do differently next time is to brush a simple syrup over the cupcakes before putting the toffee sauce and condensed milk buttercream on top. The cupcakes were a little dry and the toffee sauce was too thick to be absorbed by the cupcake. Other than that these little cakes of goodness were pretty tasty! I think I discovered a new treat to make for special occasions.

I hope you all make the most of the last week or so of summer and I will see you back here very soon! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Much love,

Anna

xoxoxox

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

8 thoughts on “Sticky Toffee Pudding Mini-Cupcakes

  1. These look sooooo yummy! I am just dying for a taste 🙂
    I like your photos too- they are beautiful!

    http://www.myboulangerie.wordpress.com

  2. Wow, absolutely stunning! Thanks for sharing =)

  3. Where’d you find those great l
    ittle paper liners?!?

    • Hey Eric,

      Thanks for the comment 🙂 I found them at this cool Asian shop by my apartment. But I have seen them in Michael’s and other stores being sold as small snack containers to serve at party’s. It is the same as a ketchup container, maybe you have a friend at your local fry shop? Hope you are able to find them! What will you bake in them? Have a great day!

      Anna

Leave a Reply

