Cupcakes Always Win

Granola

4 Comments

granola

Finding a voice among the many thought threads in my head is sometimes a little difficult. Now normally, a cupcake would win this battle. But every once in a while I need to take a step away from my everyday life to re-charge and find that voice… enter wicked cool tree-house

treehouse

 When one like myself goes to a tree-house with friends it only makes sense to bring snacks like granola! It was a weekend filled with fondue on a wood stove, hikes in the snow and late night music sessions. There were loads of cows grazing in the grass nearby to make this story even more nostalgic.

viewfromtreehouse

woodstove

For an added crunch to the day, granola is perfect! I don’t usually use much of a recipe when I am making granola because it depends on what is in my pantry. I just so happened to have almonds, dried cranberries, black currants, and raisins. Share your favourite granola flavours below! I am sure I am not the only tree hugging granola eater out there…

oatjar

Granola

What you need,

3 cups large flake oats

3/4 cup wheat germ

1 cup raw almonds

1 cup raisins

1/2 cups dried cranberries

1/2 cup black currants

1/2 cup honey

1/4 cup brown sugar

dash of cinnamon

dash of salt

How to prepare,

1. Turn oven to 350 degree F.

2. On a parchment lined baking sheet place oats, wheat germ and almonds. Bake for 30 minutes. (This dries out the ingredients to help them to absorb the liquid more)

3. While the baking sheet is baking make the sweet topping: In a small saucepan on very low heat bring your honey and brown sugar to a more fluid or lower viscosity.

4. Once the oats, wheat germ and almonds have finished drying remove from oven and mix in dried fruits. Drizzle the sugar mixture on top and mix with a wooden spoon. With the wooden spoon press the oat mixture into the pan (this provides more crunchy bits…quite possibly the best part).

5. Return the tray into the hot oven and bake for anywhere from 15-30 minutes or until golden brown.

6. Let cool and break apart into pieces. Serve with milk, yogurt or nothing!

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

4 thoughts on “Granola

  1. This entire post makes me happy- from the healthy granola recipe, to the tree-house, and the fire place. so classy and so you! love it!

  2. Hi Anna ,
    Granola is my newest snack food , breakfast or anytime . I like to put mine in a mug and pour on some goat milk . I found Kashi makes a very nice granola blend . Very easy to enjoy heart smart food.

    • Hi Gail,

      Granola is so great! I love the idea to put it in a mug. I usually use an old yogurt container to bring it with me wherever I go for a pick me up throughout the day!! Thanks for stopping by, hope you have an awesome day!

      Anna

Leave a Reply

