Cupcakes Always Win

Caramel Corn – no corn syrup!

6 Comments

caramelcorn

Cute little buckets of caramel corn!?!?! Yes please!

This is what a New Year should be filled with, sweet and crunchy popcorn. As you are now aware, I popped into this New Year with loads of poppin’ kernels… and maybe a champagne bottle… or two…

kernals

These kernels are ready to go for a spin in the hot air popcorn machine! The tricky part is to make sure they all pop, no one likes biting into hard unpopped kernels.

A quick tip: To avoid getting too much crunch in your popcorn, have two bowls ready. Use one bowl for the kernels to pop into. The other bowl is to place the popped kernels in, leaving the first bowl with the unpopped kernels.I will usually try to re-pop theses kernels and if they still don’t pop I will compost them.

pouringthecaramel

caramelcorn3

I used two types of sugar because I didn’t have enough white sugar on hand, but feel free to use all brown sugar. I added in extra molasses to compensate. I think I would still add in a little molasses because I love the rich colour and extra flavour it gives to this sweet treat!

Thanks for stopping by and hope you make the most of 2013!

Much Love,

Anna oxoxoxox

caramelcorn2

caramelcornrecipe

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

6 thoughts on “Caramel Corn – no corn syrup!

  1. Beautiful photographs and delicious sounding popcorn. I love the idea of adding molasses to a rich caramel

  2. I love making popcorn, happy memories of making it on the beach in Australia on a camp stove. This looks a bit more complex with the glossy caramel, how delicious! Lovely photos x x

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! That sounds like a very fun adventure, and popcorn on a beach, that might just be my next trek… I just started using a different camera and so far so good! Keep making awesome things on your blog, I love browsing through your creative recipes! xoxo

  3. This looks super YUM! I’m going to have to try it.
    The canister that the popcorn is in is adorable! Where did you get it?

    http://www.myboulangerie.wordpress.com

    • I am so happy you like it! I found the container in Ikea in the garden section with flower pots. There were a couple of different sizes, I just really loved the look of it! It usually holds my wooden spoons. Thanks for stopping by,

      Anna xox

Leave a Reply

