Cupcakes Always Win

Vegan Tahini Sandwich Cookies

3 Comments

_MG_7945

Remember the days when there was only one choice for a peanut butter and jam sandwich? Obviously a PB+J is a classic combination, but now we have SO many different nut and seed butters to choose from. That PB+J can be a cashew butter and jam sandwich, or even a roasted macadamia butter and jam sandwich (that was a mouth-full!).

If you even feel inclined to make your own nut or seed butter it is super easy. If you even look back at my older post on Peanut Butter Cookies it was actually my first EVER blogpost and the photos say so too… you can see that I started making my own peanut butter! The bottom line is that there is no bottom line when it comes to nut and seed butters.

_MG_7953

_MG_7955

Nut and seed butters are great in vegan baking, they really help to hold everything together. For this recipe (if you missed the title) I used Tahini (sesame seed paste). I actually started this idea with Liz. She planted the sesame seed and it grew!

The past few weeks I have been experimenting with a new lens I have purchased for my camera, I read a lot of food blogs and my favourite bloggers swear by a 50mm lens. I just got one, and it is amazing! I decided to share a couple photos that I have taken with it.

_MG_7863

_MG_7886

Pretty cool huh? Ok now I am just boosting my own ego… Do you have a favourite camera or lens you like to use when taking photos?

_MG_7925

Now back to the more important cookie at hand! These cookies were super, I served them to several people and they really enjoyed them and couldn’t believe they were vegan. They are really easy to make and perfect if you are in a pinch for time.

Enjoy the long weekend and the many Spring days to follow! As always, thanks for stopping by!

Much Love,

Anna oxoxoox

_MG_7938

tahinicookiesrecipe

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

3 thoughts on “Vegan Tahini Sandwich Cookies

  1. Love this! I made some changes, though. I halved the recipe because I was finishing up some old tahini. Well, this tahini was probably much more solid that soupy, fresh tahini, and I ended up needing much more liquid (I also used almond milk instead of soy.) Instead of cinnamon and ginger, I used cinnamon and ground cardamom. Instead of rolling out the cookies and cutting out shapes, I pressed the dough into a pie tin and scored the dough to make easy cutting later on. This ended up baking for around 13 minutes I think, with the middle still moist but the outer edges crispy. I also skipped the sandwich step, just making shortbread bars.

    My roommates and I love the flavor of the tahini though. The edges of the batch are crispy and caramelized, with still-gooey insides. Delicious.

    • Wow, this sounds super delicious! I love the idea of baking them in a pie tin. I love baking cookie dough in a deeper dish and scoring it to get that thick chewier consistency. Thanks so much for sharing, and so happy you liked the recipe 🙂

      xoxo Anna

  2. These sound really yummy! I would perhaps add some lemon zest 🙂

Leave a Reply

