Cupcakes Always Win

Whole Wheat Strawberry Scones + Toronto Picnickers

2 Comments

picnic2-20

Growing up I spent a lot of time on my grandpa’s farm, also known as Papa Moo’s (he had cows).  In the fall we would pick apples, in August we would pick blueberries and in June we would pick strawberries. It was always my most favourite time of the year when I would be released in a field of fruit and be able to pick and eat as much as my stomach could handle.

Now living in an urban centre I am getting myself out of bed to make the 5am St. Lawrence Farmer’s market on Saturday in the nick of time so I can still make it to work on time. It is a little different, but I could still feel that excitement when I saw the first Ontario strawberries of the season on the fruit benches at the market. Maybe a little tart but totally worth it, especially if feeding people at a picnic.

picnic2-2

picnic2-26

picnic2-29

This time the Toronto Picnickers hit up Dufferin Grove Park. It was the most beautiful day filled with chats, food, drinks, puppy love, and frisbee tossing. To read more about our adventure check out Swallow Daily.

I am happy to say that I had the most lovely visit from one of my followers (Julie) she is from France and saw that I asked people to come to my picnic and asked if she could come. It was the most pleasant surprise as she brought a delicious apple tart. Thanks so much for coming out!

I will put it out there again, if you are in Toronto and interested in food and picnics please contact me at cupcakesalwayswin@gmail.com. I would love to hear from you. I will be promoting the next picnic in July on twitter so stay tuned for that!

picnic2-4

picnic2-5

The scones were a hit, they were delicious! I brought fresh strawberries to the picnic as well as these Strawberry Cookie Snack Bars. Nobody complained. My awesome friend Liz  brought Sekanjabin and delicious Cucumber Smash.

picnic2-6

picnic2-7

picnic2-9

I am really excited for our next picnic and I am also really excited because my sister has just come home from a long trip! So i will be baking up a storm for her and you guys will get to see the results visually 🙂

Thanks so much stopping by I love hearing from you! Hope you have the most wonderful day,

Anna xoxoxo

picnic2-19

picnic2-21

Recipe-strawberryscones

Author: cupcakesalwayswin

I am a certified baker and love to share my passion of entertaining friends and family.

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Strawberry Scones + Toronto Picnickers

  1. Your scones look so good!

Leave a Reply

